Egyptian Visa Regulations


Non-Egyptian visitors arriving in Egypt are required to be in possession of a valid passport. Entry visas may be obtained from Egyptian Diplomatic and Consular Missions Abroad or from the Entry Visa Department at the Travel Documents, Immigration and Nationality Administration (TDINA). It is, however, possible for most tourists and visitors to obtain an entry visa at any of the Major Ports of Entry. Please check with the nearest Egyptian Consulate for specific details and regulations relevant to your nationality.


  • Visitors entering Egypt at the overland border post to Taba to visit Gulf of Aqaba coast and St. Catherine can be exempted from visa and granted a free residence permit for fourteen days to visit the area.
  • Citizens of the following countries are required to be in possession of a pre-arrival visa: Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Chechnya, Croatia, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Lebanon, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldavia, Morocco, Pakistan, Palestine, The Philippines, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia , Sri-Lanka, Tadzhikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and all African countries.
  • Those in possession of a residence permit in Egypt are not required to obtain an entry visa if they leave the country and return to it within the validity of their residence permit or within six months, whichever period is less.

There are three types of Egyptian visa:

  • Tourist Visa: is usually valid for a period not exceeding three months and granted on either single or multiple entry basis.
  • Entry Visa: is required for any foreigner arriving in Egypt for purposes other than tourism, e.g. work, study, etc. The possession of a valid Entry Visa is needed to complete the residence procedure in Egypt
  • Transit Visa.

 Major Ports of Entry to Egypt


  • Cairo International (2 terminals)
  • Alexandria Nozha
  • Luxor , Upper Egypt
  • Aswan , Upper Egypt
  • Hurghaga, Red Sea
  • Sharm El-Sheikh, South Sinai

 Marine Harbors:

  • Alexandria , Mediterranean
  • Port Said , Mediterranean
  • Damietta , Mediterranean
  • Suez , Gulf of Suez
  • Nuweiba, Gulf of Aqaba
  • Hurghada, Red Sea
  • Safaga, Red Sea
  • Sharm El-Sheikh, Red Sea

 Overland Entry Posts:

  • Salloum, northwestern border (to and from Libya )
  • Rafah, northeastern border (to and from Gaza strip, the Occupied Territories and Israel )
  • Taba, eastern border (to and from Israel )


Exemptions from Visa Fees
Egyptian visa fees do not apply to the following:

  • Holders of diplomatic passports.
  • Officials of international organizations and specialized agencies and state delegates to conferences.
  • Arab League officials.
  • Non-national spouses of Egyptian nationals.
  • Non-national members of the clergy, prominent scientists, journalists and members of official cultural, educational and sports delegations.
  • Non-national students studying in Egyptian institutions.
  • Non-diplomatic personnel of diplomatic and consular missions affected in Egypt .
  • Parents, siblings and adult children of members of the diplomatic and consular corps affected in Egypt .
  • Nationals of Cyprus , Denmark , Finland , Germany , Norway , Russia and the United States are partially exempt from Egyptian visa fees and will, therefore, pay a reduced fee.