Major Cities

on .



Beijing is a municipality directly under the Central Government and the capital of the People's Republic of China. It is not only the nation's political center, but also its cultural, scientific and educational center, and a key transportation hub.  The major industries in Beijing include: tourism, electronics, chemicals, automobile, machinery, metallurgy, textiles, garments, and household appliances.



Shanghai, a municipality directly under the Central Government, is China's largest city. Its major industries include: metallurgy, machine-building, shipbuilding, chemicals, electronics, meters, textiles and other light industries, in addition to its highly developed commerce, banking and ocean shipping industry.



Tianjin is a major industrial and commercial city in north China. Tianjin's traditional industries include: iron and steel, machine-building, chemicals, electric power, textiles, construction materials, paper-making and foodstuffs, plus some emergent industries such as shipbuilding, automobile manufacturing, petroleum exploitation and processing, and the production of tractors, chemical fertilizers, pesticides, watches, TVs and cameras.



Chongqing is the largest industrial and commercial center in southwest China, and a hub of land and water transportation in the upper Yangtze valley. Chongqing is a comprehensive industrial city, with advanced iron and steel, chemicals, electric power, automobile manufacturing, machine-building, shipbuilding, construction materials, textiles, foodstuffs and pharmaceuticals industries.


Guangzhou (Chinese: 廣州 Guǎngzhōu [kwàŋʈʂə́ʊ], also known as Canton, and less commonly as Kwangchow)[6] is the capital and largest city of Guangdong province in South China.[7] Located on the Pearl River, about 120 km (75 mi) north-northwest of Hong Kong and 145 km (90 mi) north of Macau, Guangzhou serves as an important national transportation hub and trading port.[8] One of the five National Central Cities,[9] it holds sub-provincial administrative status.[10]

Guangzhou is the third largest Chinese city and the largest city in South Central China. In 2014 the city's administrative area was estimated to have a population of 13,080,500.[2] Some estimates place the population of the entire Pearl River Delta Mega City built-up area as high as 44 million including Guangzhou's nine urban districts, and Shenzhen (10.36 million), Dongguan (8.22 million), Zhongshan (3.12 million), most parts of Foshan (7.20 million), Jiangmen (1.82 million), Zhuhai (0.89 million) and Huyang County of Huizhou (0.76 million) adjoining Dongguan and Shenzhen, with an area of about 17,573 square kilometres (6,785 sq mi). Guangzhou is part of one of the most populous metropolitan agglomerations on Earth. The total population of this agglomeration is over 54 million, including the population of adjacent city Hong Kong. Guangzhou is identified as a Beta+ world city.








Hubei (Chinese: 湖北; pinyin: Description: About this sound Húběi; Wade–Giles: Hu-pei; postal: Hupeh) is a province of China, located in the easternmost part of Central China. The name of the province means "north of the lake", referring to its position north of Dongting Lake.[4] The provincial capital is Wuhan, a major transportation thoroughfare and the political, cultural, and economic hub of Central China.Hubei is officially abbreviated to "" (È), an ancient name associated with the eastern part of the province since the Qin dynasty, while a popular name for Hubei is "" (Chǔ), after the powerful State of Chu that existed here during the Eastern Zhou dynasty. It borders Henan to the north, Anhui to the east, Jiangxi to the southeast, Hunan to the south, Chongqing to the west, and Shaanxi to the northwest. The high-profile Three Gorges Dam is located at Yichang, in the west of the province.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong (香港; "Fragrant Harbour"), officially Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, is an autonomous territory on the southern coast of China at the Pearl River Estuary and the South China Sea.[10] Hong Kong is known for its skyline and deep natural harbour.[11] It has an area of 1104 km2 and shares its northern border with the Guangdong Province of Mainland China. With around 7.2 million Hongkongers of various nationalities[note 1], Hong Kong is one of the world's most densely populated metropolises.

After the First Opium War (1839–42), Hong Kong became a British colony with the perpetual cession of Hong Kong Island, followed by Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 and a 99-year lease of the New Territories from 1898. From the start of the colony, Hong Kong remained under British control for about a century until the Second World War, then the colony was occupied by Japan in the legendary three years and eight months (12.1941 - 08.1945). After the Japanese surrender the British resumed control for about 52 years until 30 June 1997.

As a result of negotiations between China and Britain, Hong Kong was transferred to the People's Republic of China under the 1984 Sino-British Joint Declaration. The territory became a special administrative region of China with a high degree of autonomy[12] on 1 July 1997 under the principle of one country, two systems.[13][14]

In the late 1970s, Hong Kong became a major entrepôt in Asia-Pacific. The territory has developed into a major global trade hub and financial centre, and is regarded as a world city.[15] The 45th-largest economy in the world,[16] Hong Kong ranks top 10 in GDP (PPP) per capita, but also has the most severe income inequality among advanced economies. Hong Kong is one of the three most important financial centres alongside New York and London.[17] The territory has a high Human Development Index and is ranked highly in the Global Competitiveness Report.[18] It has been named the freest market economy by the Heritage Foundation Index of Economic Freedom.[19] The service economy, characterised by free trade and low taxation, has been regarded as one of the world's most laissez-faire economic policies, and the currency, the Hong Kong dollar, is the 13th most traded currency in the world.[20] Hong Kong is a member of APEC, ADB, IMF, BIS, WTO, FIFA, and International Olympic Committee, as Hong Kong Basic Law authorizes the territory to develop relations with foreign states on its own in appropriate fields, including the economic, trade, financial and monetary, shipping, communications, tourism, cultural and sports fields.[21]

Limited land created a dense infrastructure and the territory became a centre of modern architecture, and one of the world's most vertical cities.[22][23] Hong Kong has a highly developed public transportation network covering 90 per cent of the population, the highest in the world, and relies on mass transit by road or rail.[24][25] Air pollution remains a serious problem.[26][27] Loose emissions standards have resulted in a high level of atmospheric particulates.[28] Nevertheless, Hongkongers enjoy the world's longest or second longest life expectancies.